EFF councillors sworn in at peaceful FGTM council meeting

Mr Harry Mnisi and Mr Judas Kgwete taking their oath.

ATOK – The Fetakgomo Greater Tubatse Municipality (FGTM) enjoyed a peaceful council meeting for the first time since last year’s elections. The municipality held its special council meeting at the Moses Mabotha Hall at GaNkwana Village on Monday.Unlike previous gatherings, there were no exchange of insults, vulgar words, or altercations between security personnel and EFF councillors. The meeting saw the mayor, Cllr Johannes Maudu Phokane, announce his first municipal budget adjustment speech. On the day two EFF councillors were also sworn in as members of the FGTM council. The two new members are Mr Harry Mnisi and Mr Judas Kgwete. They replaced Mr Walter Molapo and Mr Given Leshabane, who resigned last year.Mr Kgothatso Mogoane, EFF’s Sekhukhune secretary said, “We are very proud to have both Mnisi and Kgwete as part of the team, and we believe they will play a major role in the council. I know they are ready to join our efforts in improving Fetakgomo Tubatse.”

Gilbert Motseo

Latest News


Next Story x
Clean water still three years away